Follow Us On Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Watch us on YouTube Instagram
Register
Grote LED
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

General newbie questions about suspension

First post here and I have a few questions hopefully someone can assist. disclaimer, I love jeeps but I'm no mechanic or a mods guy.
    Recently I finished paying off my 2015 Wrangler Sahara Unlimited. I would like to get away from the factory 18" wheels and 32" tires that came standard and go to a 17" wheel with a 33" tire. I'd also like a wider tire. I see Jeeps on the road that don't appear to be lifted but have this config.
    I'd really appreciate some clarification on my understanding if someone can help it would be great:

1. With 17" wheels and 33" tires my understanding is that I don't need a lift, is this correct? - since its the same clearance in total?
    2. The wider wheel base I'm seeing are 9" - does this make sense?
    3. Will buying this config with Wheels such as 17" Black Rhino's or Rock Stars with 33" MT AT's put extra strain on the factory suspension? (would this be hard on the factory steering, control arms, sway or tie rod)?

Something like this is what I'm looking for - I don't believe this is lifted. I prefer a lower clearance between the tire and hub.
    50CE6020-74D0-4F1F-ACF1-4600BA03AD70.jpeg

Thanks!
    Last edited by awparker; 07-30-2020 at 08:21 AM.

Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    1. Depends if you are wheeling, flexing out, and backspacing of wheel, but should be fine. The rubi's for example have 32.5" tires, however, not 12.5 wide, and their springs have a slightly higher height rating.
    2. I assume you mean wheel width. 9 is likely the more common I believe.